The Tri-City Medical Center Carlsbad Marathon has always operated under the premise that the last finisher is just as important as the first; all finishers are “heroes.” We want to identify the true marathon heroes – the people who work quietly to reach the finish line well after the elite athletes have received their applause, done their interviews and are enjoying breakfast in the VIP tent.

We consider heroes to be ordinary people doing extraordinary things; from surviving a devastating medical diagnosis, to being an inspiration or champion for others in their community. Heroes do not let the word difficult circumstances or challenges deter them from their objectives. Instead they rise to the occasion and never back down. We recognize these people as the true heroes they are.

Every person who is nominated (self nominations are welcome) are recognized during the race. Hero stories are published on the marathon website and may be released to the media. An unbiased panel of judges review the nominees and select the heroes who best exemplify our definition of “hero.”

Your story may provide the inspiration someone else needs who is struggling with training or life in general and doubting whether or not they can do this. For sharing your thoughts, you really can make a difference and be someone’s hero. So start thinking about why you or someone you know qualifies and get that story in today!  Five Heroes of the Marathon will be selected and notified in early January.

In addition to each hero’s story and photo being included on this website, heroes will receive the VIP Coastal Comfort Package (a $195 value) which includes:

  • Race day VIP parking
  • Complimentary race day packet pickup (including your bib number, long-sleeve technical shirt, 1/4 zip pullover and cinch bag)
  • Private gear drop off and pickup
  • Changing tent
  • Exclusive use of VIP restrooms
  • Access to our heated VIP tent featuring pre- and post-race food and beverage
  • A 10-minute post-race massage


Nominate a Hero


Past heroes of the marathon:

2018     2017     2016      2015      2014      2013     2012     2011     2010      2009      2008      2007


   Our Sponsors